Cultural Directory of Slovakia

The Ministry of Culture of the Slovak Republic was established in 1969 following the creation of a new Socialist Federal Republic which granted the Czech and Slovak republics autonomy over local affairs.
The Ministry of Interior of the Slovak Republic is the central body of state administration responsible for protecting the constitutional system, public order, security of persons and property, protection and administration of the state’s borders, safety and fluency of road traffic, issues relating to weapons and ammunition, private security services, entry to the territory of the Slovak Republic and the stay of foreigners in its territory, identity cards, travel documents and driving licences, refugees and transmigrants, registration of the population, the Police Force and the Fire Fighti
The Ministry of Education of the Slovak Republic is the central body of state administration of the Slovak Republic for elementary, secondary and higher education, educational facilities, lifelong learning, science, and state support for sports and youth.
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Slovak Republic forms a part of the executive power in the Slovak Republic.
Matica slovenská has historically proved to be a major establishment of the Slovak nation in the field of cultural, social and scientific activities.
Matica slovenská Archives is a centre of expertise in the acquisition, registration, preservation and dissemination of archival documents related to the activity of Matica slovenská from its establishment in 1857 up to the present.
The Museum of Fellow Countrymen forms part of Matica slovenská and is located at Matica slovenská’s Bratislava office, a two-storey Neo Rococo palace built in 1889 by Bratislava architect J Hubert for pharmacist F Pistori. The building is a National Cultural Monument.
The National Centre of Culture is a national cultural establishment, top-level state institution for non-professional culture and public education delivered in local and regional conditions but also nationally.
The Slovak Centre of Traditional Culture is a civic association with the following functions: (i) protection, distribution, promotion and documentation of traditional and folk culture and folklore in Slovakia and abroad; (ii) methodological, organisational, educational and training activities in the field of traditional and folk culture and folklore; (iii) organising cultural programmes, festivals and
The Slovak Tourist Board is a state contributory organisation which specialises in the marketing and state promotion of the tourism industry of the Slovak Republic. It carries out the national marketing of the tourist industry, provides information on tourism in Slovakia, promotes Slovakia as a tourist destination, contributes to a positive image of Slovakia abroad and supports the sale of TI products of the Slovak Republic. The Slovak Tourist Board is authorised to carry out official representation abroad and establish detached offices at home and abroad.
The Directorate General of Public Administration is responsible for: (i) the elaboration of the concept of activities of the Ministry; (ii) the complexity and correctness of its decisions, proposals, documents and materials; (iii) the elaboration and implementation of resolutions of the Slovak National Council, the Gove
The Archives and Records Section: (i) is responsible for preparing the concept for the development of archives, the takeover, making the archives accessible for the public and the protection of archival documents; (ii) gives permission for the establishment and destruction of archives and it raises proposals for the destruction of State Archives; (iii) keep
Banská Bystrica Region lies in the southern part of central Slovakia and is the country's largest in terms of area. It covers an area of 9,454.8 square kilometres and has a total population of 657,119 (2005).With its extensive forests and hilly terrain, Banská Bystrica Region is the least densely settled region in Slovakia, with only 70 inhabitants per square kilometre, compared to the Slovak average of 110.
Bratislava Region is the smallest of the eight regions of Slovakia. Located in south west Slovakia, it covers an area of 2,053 square kilometres and has a total population of 603,699 (2005). Bratislava Region is the country's most densely settled and urbanised region, with 296 inhabitants per square kilometre, about three times the Slovak average. Bratislava, the capital, has a population of 426,091, or 70 per cent of the total inhabitants of the region.
Located in south east Slovakia, Košice Region is a largely flat area bordering Ukraine and Hungary. Slovakia's second largest region, it covers an area of 6,751.9 square kilometres and has a total population of 771,947 (2005). The capital, Košice city, is Slovakia's second largest and the industrial anchor of the east of the country, with about one third of the total inhabitants of the region.
Situated in north east Slovakia, the Prešov Region is the country's most physically spectacular, but poorest and most sparsely settled region. It borders on Poland and Ukraine, and contains five national parks.Prešov Region covers an area of 8,974.5 square kilometres and has a total population of 798,596 (2005). More than half of the inhabitants of the region live in rural areas.
Situated in north west Slovakia, the Trenčín Region covers an area of 4,501.9 square kilometres and has a total population of 600,386 (2005). It is the third smallest region, both in terms of population and area but, together with the Trnava Region, the second most densely settled after Bratislava.
Situated in south west Slovakia, Trnava Region covers an area of 4,174.2 square kilometres and has a total population of 554,172 (2005). The second smallest region after Bratislava, it encloses Bratislava Region and borders the Czech Republic, Austria and Hungary.
Situated in north west Slovakia, Žilina Region is a rugged area that borders the Czech Republic and Poland. It covers an area of 6,808.4 square kilometres and has a total population of 694,763 (2005).
Situated in the Turiec Basin, just south of the confluence of the Turiec and Váh Rivers in northern Slovakia, Martin lies at an altitude of 395 metres above sea level. It is 30 kilometres south east of Žilina, 60 kilometres north west of Banská Bystrica, and 230 kilometres north east of Bratislava.
Partizánske town (48ْ۫ 37´ northern latitude, 18ْ 20´ eastern longitude), covers an area where the Nitra loessial downs, Tríbeč mountains and the southern spur of Strážov highlands meet, where the Nitra and Nitrica rivers flow together. It represents the gateway to the Horné Ponitrie (Upper Nitra valley).