Prešov Regional Government

Úrad Prešovského samosprávneho kraja
Contact: Stanislav Kubánek Director
Námestie mieru 2, 080 01 Prešov, Slovakia
421 (0) 51 7081 752
421 (0) 51 7081 750

Situated in north east Slovakia, the Prešov Region is the country's most physically spectacular, but poorest and most sparsely settled region. It borders on Poland and Ukraine, and contains five national parks.

Prešov Region covers an area of 8,974.5 square kilometres and has a total population of 798,596 (2005). More than half of the inhabitants of the region live in rural areas.

The main rivers in the region are the Poprad, which flows north through Kežmarok into Poland, and the Topľa, which flows south from the Polish border through Bardejov and Vranov nad Topľou to eventually join the Bodrog into Hungary. The region has three national parks Vysoké Tatry (The High Tatras), Poloniny and Pieniny.

Prešov Region is made up of 13 districts and 665 municipalities.

Some of the most significant foreign investment to have arrived in the Prešov region has gone into the wood processing and automotive sector. However, Prešov Region remains economically the weakest region of Slovakia with a predominantly rural character.