Sun in a Net National Film Awards

Národné filmové ceny Slnko v sieti
Contact: Professor Emília Vášáryová (f) President
Silvia Dydňanská (f) Executive secretary
Slovenská filmová a televízna akadémia, Grösslingová 51, 811 09 Bratislava, Slovakia
421 (0) 2 5263 4203
421 (0) 2 5263 4202

Awarded every two years by the Slovak Film and Television Academy, the Slnko v Sieti ('Sun in the Net') is the Slovak equivalent of the Oscar in the United States, the Caesar in France, the David in Italy and the Český lev in the Czech Republic ). It takes its name from Štefan Uher's film Slnko v Sieti (1962), the first of the Czechoslovak new wave which gave Slovak cinematography a world dimension. The trophy is designed by young glassmaker Oliver Leššo.

The premiere award of 2004 went to director Juraj Herz for his outstanding contribution to Slovak cinematography. The first formal presentation of the Slnko v Sieti National Film Awards took place on 8 December 2006 during the International Film Festival Bratislava, when the awards were given out in 14 categories.

Partners include the European Film Awards and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Awards ().