Dušan Jurkovič Award

Cena Dušana Jurkoviča
Contact: Ján Bahna President
Frequency: Annual
Spolok architektov Slovenska (SAS), Panská 15, 811 01 Bratislava, Slovakia
421 (0) 2 5443 1431, 421 (0) 2 5443 5177
421 (0) 2 5443 5744

Named after Dušan Jurkovič (b 23 August 1868 Turá Lúka – d 21 December 1947 Bratislava), founder of modern Slovak architecture, the Dušan Jurkovič Award has been conferred since 1964 and by the Slovak Architects Association (SAS) since 1991. It is presented to an author or a team of authors for an implemented architectural or urbanistic work that has been instrumental in raising the standards and prestige of architectural or urbanistic work in Slovakia. It is bestowed annually by the Slovak Architects Association and the Fine Arts Fund. The award and nominations are decided by an international jury appointed by the Presidium of the Slovak Architects Association (SAS). Nominations may come from representatives of regions, creative associations, jury members and members of the Slovak Architects Association (SAS). The 2008 Dušan Jurkovič Award was conferred on Ivan Matušík and Sebastián Nagy for the residential complex Triangolo in Nitra.