Emil Belluš Award

Cena Emila Belluša
Contact: Štefan Šlachta President
Frequency: Annual
Spolok architektov Slovenska (SAS), Panská 15, 811 01 Bratislava, Slovakia
421 (0) 2 5443 1431, 421 (0) 2 5443 5177
421 (0) 2 5443 5744

This award represents a prestigious recognition of outstanding lifelong work in the world of architecture – creative or pedagogic, scientific and research. It is given to an author or a team of authors for work that is instrumental in raising the standards and prestige of architectural work in Slovakia. It has been awarded since 1964 to mark the memory of major Slovak architect Emil Belluš (b 19 September 1899 Slovenská Ľupča – d 14 December 1979 Bratislava). The award is decided by the Presidium of the Slovak Architects Association (SAS) and bestowed annually by the Slovak Architects Association (SAS) and the Fine Arts Fund. Since 1999, the award giving and nominations have been considered by an international jury. Proposals may come from members or member associations of the Slovak Architects Association (SAS). The award can go to the same architect only once. The award comes with an opening of a solo exhibition by the laureate – featuring a selection of his or her architectural work. The 2008 Emil Belluš Award was conferred on Ing. arch. Jaroslav Vítek for his major lifelong work.