Academy of Arts, Banská Bystrica - Faculty of Drama

Akademia umeni - logo
Fakulta dramatických umení Akadémie umení v Banskej Bystrici
Contact: Dr Milan Švehlík Dean
Contact: Judita Perželová (f) Dean's Secretary
Contact: Jana Lopejská (f) Faculty Secretary
Akadémia umení v Banskej Bystrici, Horná 95, 974 01 Banská Bystrica, Slovakia
421 (0) 48 414 3301
421 (0) 48 414 3301

Akademia umeni - logoThe Faculty of Drama, established in 1999, originated from the former Department of Acting and Directing. At the time of its inception the Faculty of Drama consisted of the full time students involved in studying Dramatic Arts - Acting and Dramatic Arts – Directing Study Programs. The University operated with the consent of the Accreditation Commission and of the Minister of Education under a condition that it would gain the full accreditation within the next three years.

In 2002, the Faculty received a positive statement from the Accreditation Commission to implement the study programs Dramatic Arts – Acting and Film - Documentary Production. Simultaneously however due to the inability to guarantee the sufficient proficiency the Accreditation Commission did not accredit the Faculty of Drama to provide a study program Dramatic Arts - Theory and History of Drama. Graduates from the non-accredited bachelor degree study program Theory and History of Drama were given the opportunity to continue studying at the Department of Documentary Production pursuing the individual study plans.

Currently, the Faculty of Drama offers bachelor and master degree study programs in Dramatic Arts - Acting - Film- Documentary Production and bachelor degree study programs in Dramatic Arts - Dramaturgy and Directing and Film – Dramaturgy and Scriptwriting (it has filed an application for accreditation of master degree study programs in Dramatic Arts - Dramaturgy and Dramatic Arts - Directing).

The Faculty of Drama has recently started to build a system of contacts with similar educational institutions in Slovenia, Estonia and the Czech Republic, Poland, Ukraine, Serbia and Croatia.