Žilina self-governing region - Culture and Public Relations Department

Žilinský samosprávny kraj - Odbor kultúry a komunikácie s verejnosťou
Contact: Alena Michálková (f) Director
Komenského 48, 011 09 Žilina, Slovakia
421 (0) 41 50 32 343
421 (0) 41 50 32 344

The main objective of the Culture Directorate operating within the Office of the Žilina Self-Governing Region is the improvement of conditions necessary for the development of cultural identity, education, provision of access and creation of cultural values, and secondarily also the improvement of social conditions. Since 2007, the ŽSK has followed its own concept of cultural development (in co-operation with the Foundation - Centre for Contemporary Arts) on the basis of which it prepares partial strategic plans for specific areas, carries out and continuously evaluates the concept, monitors and analysises the state of culture in the Žilina region, and initiates and organises meetings, brainstorming and workshops as a tool for the implementation of innovations and the solution of problematic topics. In this area, the Culture Directorate covers and administers the protection, improvement, documentation (including digitisation), research and provision of access to cultural heritage, support for new works of art and activities carried out by leaders of cultural and artistic life, the creativeness of the population, children and youth in the region, education and research in the area of culture and art, publishing activity, improvement of information on culture, co-operation in the area of culture with non-governmental organisations, the business sector and public administration as well as international co-operation in the area of culture. Through its own grant system, the ŽSK provides grants from its own resources in order to support subjects acting in the area of culture.

There are 23 cultural institutions operating in the establishing competence of the Žilina Self-Governing Region, including four museums, five galleries, five libraries, five cultural centres and two observatories.